Skip to content
21 June 2006 / erikduval

Open Source should never compromise user experience

Through the joys of technology, I had the pleasure of addressing the participants in the Learn 2006 Summer School.

In the short talk, I tried to explain why I think learning is the most important topic they could work on, as it enables people to “get better at getting better” and why I believe that openness is such an important issue.

During the discussion, there were some questions around the value of open source, as I mentioned in my presentation that, although we develop all of our code as open source, I believe the value of open source is often way overstated nowadays. My summary was that open source can never be an excuse for compromising the user experience. Seems obvious, no? (But I often see people using exactly this excuse…)

Leave a Reply

