Skip to content
25 June 2007 / erikduval

Order on the way out…

I haven’t read “Everything is Miscellaneous” yet, but picked up some of the ideas on-line. David Weinberger’s blog is a good read, and the google tech talk below gives an introduction to the theme.

David also contributed to the on-line Future of Education conference. (There seems to be a lot of other interesting stuff there!) One of the ideas he mentioned there seems particularly relevant to me: we should no longer worry too much about ordering things “on the way in”, for instance trying to put them in some specific place in a classification structure. Rather, we should make sure they accumulate rich metadata (including attention metadata – more on our workshop last Saturday soon!). Then we can provide order “on the way out”, in response to specific user interactions.

I completely agree with this concept and believe that it has profound implications for how we deal with information. As an example, I’ve maintained for a long time that “folders are dead”. I do not believe that the a priori investment of time and effort to categorize for instance emails pays off in better access to the relevant messages afterwards. For more than two years now, I have a pretty simple way of “organizing” my emails:

  • I save every email message that I read. Every single one. If the message is important enough to spend time on reading it, then it is important enough to save it, because I may need it afterwards. And I don’t want to invest time in deciding whether or not I really will need it afterwards – a decision that often is incorrect anyway: have you ever wanted a message back that you know you deleted?
  • Every saved message goes into an archive folder. I have one archive folder. Just one. Because I don’t want to spend time figuring out under which project, or which person, or which status, or whatever I should file the message. So, how do I find messages back? Simple, they have quite a bit of metadata on them (all the to:, from:, subject:, date:, etc. headers for instance) and I search those metadata to find them. Works for me.

(OK – there are a few “implementation details”: gmail would work great for this approach, but I filled up the capacity after 6 months and have been 98% full since😦 I use Apple mail over IMAP, and actually start a new archive folder every 6 weeks or so, because filing messages takes too much time once the folder gets too large.)

And the implications of “order on the way out” go far beyond my email: in a way, the web illustrates the principle. When you create a new page, it gets organized as people start referring to it, not when you publish it! (In fact, that is a key difference with the earlier gopher system – I am getting old – where you put a document in a menu hierarchy to publish it. Anyone using gopher these days😉 ?

Or think about the “un-conference” approach (FooCamp for instance): isn’t that about creating order at the moment when you need it, rather than many months before?

You probably have some examples too? I’d love to hear about them…

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Tom / Aug 26 2007 5:11 pm

    I don’t have troubles having a lot of mails slowing Mail down anymore,at the moment I have 1200 mails in my inbox and it works like a charm. My secret: http://www.hawkwings.net/2007/03/01/a-faster-way-to-speed-up-mailapp/ , the first time I did that trick, I had a huge performance boost!

Leave a Reply

