Skip to content
21 May 2009 / erikduval

Serious Fun with My Students – and you can have some too!

It is that time of the year again: most of this week is taken up by presentations of my students on the results of a semester or year of work…

And … you can help them!

I am quite happy to see that both have brought their work to a stage where it can actually be used by ‘real people’ – that is people like you, not them or me😉

Speaking of actually being able to use the result of student work. You can also try the following applications that my students on Human-Computer Interaction built on Facebook:

By exploring these applications, you will help them to evaluate what works or not and when – as they track all the interactions. That is what makes facebook such a great platform for CHI courses in my humble opinion: they get ‘real data’ from ‘real people’! This is very important for me as I emphasize the importance of evaluation and that can only be done with a sufficient number of people other than the girlfriend, brother or mother of the student-developers!

BTW, if you want to discover how they developed the applications, then do check out their group blogs: Click OK to Cancel, Erik’s Angels, CHI09, That’s a lot of CHI, WiWoWoS, CHIblog – I agree: some blog names are more original than others😉 And, you can also check our delicious feed (more than 260 bookmarks on CHI that my students contributed!) or our twitter conversation.

I still need to grade the students, so shouldn’t say too much, but I had Serious Fun doing this. I’d love to hear your comments and feedback!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Wouter Weyne / May 21 2009 6:07 pm

    You seem to have bookmarked the hellokitty app instead of the wordstock app, this is the wordstock app link: http://apps.facebook.com/wordstock/
    (kwestie van toch even voor mijn medestudenten te schermen🙂 )

  2. erikduval / May 21 2009 11:52 pm

    Thanks, Wouter, for pointing this out!

    The link in the post has been corrected, to avoid further misunderstandings…

Trackbacks

  1. Testing, testing, … « Erik Duval’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

