Skip to content
9 June 2014 / erikduval

Significant improvement…

Suppose someone told you earlier today that your latest work was ‘a significant improvement’… How would that sound? Kind of good, no? Not just an improvement, but a significant improvement! Still, you would also hear a certain hesitation, a hint that things need to get (should I say significantly?) better still. There’s a bit of a negative-wrapped-in-a-positive in that ‘significant improvement’. Kind of like ‘better, but not good enough yet’…

So, that’s what I was told about my PET scan last Thursday: it’s a significant improvement over the original one. Many of my lymph nodes are back to normal, but I still have some smaller tumors in my neck and armpits. So, we will do at least two more sessions of CHOP chemo and then I will have another PET scan in about six weeks from now. I sure hope for more significant improvement by then!

Now, it may sound like I’m not over-enthusiastic, and I sure would have preferred to have been declared tumor-free, but ‘significant improvement’ sounds a lot better than ‘no improvement at all’, or ‘things have gotten much worse’😉 !

Also nice: I was up and about on Friday, the day after chemo, and fit enough to go for a walk on Saturday! The longer this takes, the smoother it goes, so it seems, which is kind of different from what you often read about other people’s experiences… Good for me!

Even nicer: I keep getting nice gifts, like this one, from my students:

2014-06-04 21.31.22It’s an actual tile, the kind you can hang on your wall! As I tweeted: I have nice students, really nice students… No need for ‘significant improvement’ on that front!

 

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jelena Jovanovic / Jun 9 2014 7:43 pm

    Great news! I’m sure the next scan will say that everything is clear:)

    Best,
    Jelena

  2. gsiemens / Jun 9 2014 8:58 pm

    Hi Erik – this is wonderful news. Wishing you continued progress and healing!!

  3. liesbetdegent / Jun 9 2014 10:13 pm

    Blij dat te lezen Erik! Veel moed nog he komende maanden…🙂
    Liesbet

  4. Vladan Devedzic / Jun 9 2014 10:39 pm

    Dear Erik,

    I’m waiting for the tumor-free results in 6 weeks from now!

    All the best,

    Vladan

  5. josemota / Jun 10 2014 2:05 am

    That is great news. I’m happy for you Erik. Now keep getting better🙂.

  6. alanmarkberg / Jun 10 2014 7:45 am

    Thinking of you as you keep getting better. Strength.

  7. Dragan Gasevic / Jun 10 2014 12:21 pm

    Erik, that’s a great news. Wishing a quick recovering!

  8. Sam / Jun 10 2014 4:52 pm

    great news! Nice gift too😉

  9. Carmen L. Padrón / Jun 18 2014 9:09 am

    It is very nice to hear good news. Keep being positive! I wish you a quick recovery.

Leave a Reply

