Skip to content
18 August 2014 / erikduval

Secret society…

One of the nicest perks of being a lymphoma patient over the past few months is that I received a few really nice and touching messages from very unexpected corners, typically from people that I didn’t know all that well before, who have been quite directly touched themselves by lymphoma. (You know who you are…)

The most recent such message came from one of my first year students, who went through lymphoma treatment a few years ago. He’s about 30 years my junior, but I recognise a lot of his experience. And I was rather touched by the fact that he reached out to me.

As these messages from people with direct experience have been so important to me, I have made a solemn promise to myself that I will reach out to whomever I hear from who goes through the same ordeal. Actually, my student mentioned that he wrote me a message because he had received a similar message when he was a patient, from a teacher that he barely knew, who had gone through the same experience himself.

I was reflecting a bit on this notion of personal connections, and it developed in my mind to a cunning plan for us, lymphomians, to take over the world: I will start a Secret Society that will include only people very directly affected by lymphoma.

Membership of the society will be by invitation only. Members of the society will always support other members. We will develop secret codes, so that I can for instance favour a paper written by another member, even in blind peer review. And, of course, students from the society will get excellent grades from professors who are members of the society. We will have members among the police, who will cancel fines from other members. In restaurants run by members, we will always get the best table. In politics, members will make sure other members get the more important positions. Etc. Etc. It will only take a bit of time and then our society will basically run the world!

Actually, come to think of it, maybe such a secret society already exists? That would explain a lot of things. All I have to do is get through this treatment period and then I’ll get my invitation…

bib

In the mean time, in completely unrelated news, we’re enjoying a week off with the family in Heidelberg and Dresden…

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. els duval (@elimduval) / Aug 28 2014 8:05 pm

    “…. Founded in 1949 (!) , the ” Leukemia & Lymphoma Society” funds blood cancer research, education and patient services”.
    But you might like this one more: Patient #1:The secret society of cancer fighters
    Read more at http://www.philly.com/philly/blogs/patient1/Patient-1-I-am-not-in-this-alone.html#tMYqP20PalsoOIj0.99

Leave a Reply

