Skip to content
27 October 2014 / erikduval

Echternach…

Last Thursday and Friday were Good Days: got some good work done, felt great. Saturday was a Bad Day: head, shoulder and neck pain, nausea, dripping nose and eye, felt awful. Yesterday was a Good Day again.

Life as a cancer patient can be a bit of a Procession of Echternach: a few steps forward and then a few backward. As long as the first kind outnumbers the last, I guess we’re making progress.

2014-10-27 12.45.17Today, I had my blood tested. I’m a bit wary of the Good News Curse, so let me just say that I’m back home.

When I’m at the hospital, I have to wear an identification wristband. One of the many ways that cancer makes you feel like a helpless child sometimes. I always like the moment when I arrive back home and I can cut the wristband. Like breaking the chains.

Today looks like a step forward…

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. oana.sipos / Oct 27 2014 11:39 pm

    “Storms make trees take deeper roots.” – Dolly Parton

    Glad to see you see the half full part of the glass😉

  2. dougclow / Oct 29 2014 1:12 pm

    Long may the forward steps exceed the backward ones!

  3. elim duval / Oct 30 2014 10:39 pm

    even the last person in the procession of Echternach reaches the end in the afternoon. So, keep on going (or jumping as it is nowadays)!

  4. sverjans / Nov 3 2014 4:11 pm

    There are processions that have an even stronger impact: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e4q6eaLn2mY😉

Trackbacks

  1. Rather good… | Erik Duval's Weblog

Leave a Reply

