Skip to content
28 November 2014 / erikduval

Thanks, cancer!

This is more or less the post I was going to write:

So sure: cancer sucks. But how many people who go through it have all this? Not many. Some have money problems. Some have work problems. Some are on their own. Some have lousy or nonexistent health insurance. Some get inadequate treatment. I have none of those problems. I am lucky almost beyond belief.

Contrary to Kevin, it hasn’t been weeks, but rather like months in my case. And not myeloma but lymphoma. But the overall feeling is much the same…

Moreover, if all goes well (can you all please touch wood, cross fingers, and do whatever else you think may help?), I may have had the last chemo ever in my life. And my dear stem cells, harvested a few months ago, are back in my body, finding their way to my marrow bone, so they can start raising whatever cells it is they raise that will get me back on my feet now that my resistance against infections is gone…

Could be worse, much worse. So, thanks, cancer, but feel free to move out, disappear and never come back. And many more thanks to all of you who have been and continue to be so supportive. Please do not move out, don’t disappear and stay. I may still need you…

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. annett zobel / Nov 28 2014 4:25 pm

    crossing fingers all the time!

  2. hediamhiri / Nov 28 2014 8:30 pm

    Don’t worry, we are always with you🙂

  3. gklyne / Nov 28 2014 10:36 pm

    (I don’t know you, came across this post randomly, but on the long-shot that it helps…) If you get an unexpected rash, beware shingles and start antivirals sooner rather than later. (This happened to someone I know – shingles after stem cell transplant resulted on ongoing neuropathy; otherwise all is good – hope it is for you.)

  4. lrenshaw11liz / Nov 29 2014 1:13 am

    Just know we are all still in your corner. I’m the Blue Mountains NSW Australia Erik support team leader. Always loving to hear your updates. Keep them coming…. you are an INSPIRATION Erik. Everything possible crossed for you- even internal organs🙂

  5. Riina Vuorikari (@vuorikari) / Nov 30 2014 7:09 pm

    Hi Erik, all the best for you and your family from Sevilla’s sun! Riina

  6. Phillip Long / Nov 30 2014 9:35 pm

    Erik – you’re story is one that we hope will become the norm among cancer patients. Not just ‘survivors’ but ‘thrivers’. Looking forward to seeing you at LASI15 in Cambridge, MA. You have a chapter of the Erik Support Group now in Austin, Texas, as well. Do GREAT things my friend.

  7. Aung Pyae / Dec 2 2014 4:07 pm

    Be strong Prof. I do wish you to get speedy recovery. All the best of luck. I do believe you will recover very soon. Btw, I sent a book to you to your university address🙂

  8. John Gordon / Dec 5 2014 1:31 pm

    Hi Eric, just came across this. I did not know. I know it does not help, but I also will keep everything crossed. This evening I will raise a glass to you from Scotland – I will keep the rest of the bottle for future sharing. John Gordon.

  9. r3becca / Dec 9 2014 11:45 pm

    Touching wood and crossing fingers – glad to hear the last chemo is behind you

  10. sis / Dec 11 2014 5:33 pm

    wacht vol spanning af wanneer je weer “weblogt”. Dan weet ik dat we weer een hoofdstuk kunnen afsluiten. En dit keer een heel groot, chemo-graduate!
    tot weldra dus,

Leave a Reply

