Skip to content
16 January 2015 / erikduval

All clean, beta release

Rather good news: my PET scan this week showed no remaining signs of lymphoma. None. No suspicious areas that might or might not be problematic. All clean.

(Well, there were some traces of pneumonia, but who cares about pneumonia when you worry about lymphoma?)

I just learned that my hemoglobin level is low, but apart from that, my blood levels are fine too.

This is the best result we could hope for. After 10 months of treatment, it looks like I will spend a lot less time in hospitals in the coming months. (This is where you should hear triumphant loud music, something from Haendel for instance…)

My next doctor’s appointment is in four months from now. Next PET scan in a year. Seems a bit unreal still…

Of course, there’s a roughly 1/3 chance that this is not over yet, and that I will relapse. But, for now, I’m not worried about that. Bad Things can happen to all of us, all of the time – who cares?

(My family came up with this nice plot for a movie yesterday evening: guy battles cancer for a year, wins but gets run over by a car the very next day. Maybe a Woody Allen movie? Guess I’ll pay extra attention when crossing the streets today…)

In any case, this seems as good a time as any to announce the beta release of Erik2.0. Not version 1 just yet, as fatigue is still a bit of an issue – though getting better. Nausea and sickness are gone now, so definitely an improvement over the earlier alpha release.

In fact, I was told yesterday that I can start jogging again! I doubt that my first run will take much longer than a minute. And I’m sure I will be overtaken by people twice my age. Who are just walking. But still, I’m looking forward to put my running shoes on again.

You’re not rid of me yet!

21 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Karine Nicolay / Jan 16 2015 11:36 am

    And glad we aren’t (rid of you yet!) Keep on running!

  2. wrubens / Jan 16 2015 1:15 pm

    Good news. Congratulations!

  3. lrenshaw11 / Jan 16 2015 4:17 pm

    Awesome news. Been thinking of you so much in the last couple of days. You have been very courageous Strong and witty the whole time throughout this painful experience. it’s 2am in Australia and I know I’ll sleep a little easier having found ur message. Keep us posted and strength be with you

  4. Rebecca / Jan 17 2015 1:08 am

    So glad to hear your news! I had similar news on Dec 29th .. so happy to be clear of the cancer, but still battling the fatigue and side effects associated with recovery. It may “officially” be over, but there certain is a time period before you are back into shape … I wish for you a quick recovery and clean scans🙂

  5. Oleg / Jan 17 2015 3:37 am

    Congratulations!
    Your perseverance is inspiring.

  6. josemota / Jan 17 2015 2:50 pm

    That is wonderful news. No one knows what the future will bring, as you rightly say, so now is the time to enjoy recovery and get into shape. Having a family with a sense of humor must help a lot🙂. All the best Erik.

  7. erikduval / Jan 17 2015 5:34 pm

    Thank you for your nice comments. One of my privileges has always been that I’m surrounded by so many wonderful people. That has been a Big Help in this long journey. Thank you. Really: thank you!

    And a special note to Rebecca: great to hear you had similar news! Getting back in shape will take a bit of time – just slept for more than 2 hours in the early afternoon😉 “Quick recovery and clean scans” – I wish you the very same! (Someone should start selling post cards with that slogan…)

  8. dougclow / Jan 17 2015 8:27 pm

    Hooray! That is really excellent news. I am delighted. I look forward to the full release version of Erik 2.0! Good luck with the bug fixes (e.g. pneumonia), feature enhancements, and performance and stability improvements along the route.

  9. Andras Szucs / Jan 17 2015 10:01 pm

    Thanks Godness! So good to read… take care and all the best, Erik!

  10. annett zobel / Jan 18 2015 4:15 pm

    We are so glad… looking forward to final release😉

  11. sharonslade / Jan 18 2015 6:43 pm

    I have to admit to a slight sense of shame that your blog has provided me with a welcome and regular shot of humour and humanity. I’ve learned a lot and possibly laughed more than I should. Very selfish on my part. Thank you for providing such an honest insight into your experience – I can’t really claim to properly appreciate what you have been through and I can’t imagine that I’d have the capacity to deal with the ups and downs as you have. But both sincere thanks and massive congrats on your progress.

  12. Beat Signer / Jan 18 2015 7:24 pm

    That’s great news!! I wish you all the best on the way to the final release… Take care, Erik!

  13. Alan Fletcher / Jan 19 2015 9:20 am

    Hey Erik, I think you should treat yourself to some new running shoes, never mind putting the old ones on again. Breathe deeply, run slowly and keep on getting better. I need some new Duvalisms for my slide deck, so when you are ready…..
    Your writing has been an absolute inspiration.

  14. christienbok / Jan 19 2015 3:21 pm

    Wat een geweldig nieuws! Ik doe mee met de fanfare, en hoop je zodra het weer aan de orde is weer te ontmoeten! Ik proost vast op dit goede nieuws!!

  15. yi-miau / Jan 19 2015 6:08 pm

    (with triumphant loud music playing) tomorrow it will be Erik2.1, keep going!!

  16. Dr.Naif Aljohani / Jan 20 2015 6:33 am

    It is indeed a very good news to hear, I got huge benefits from your knowledge and look forward to read more of your new papers🙂
    Don’t surrender keep fighting optimistically .

  17. marnixvb / Jan 20 2015 3:28 pm

    Congrats Erik!🙂

    Just can’t resist sending you this one as ‘alternative rendering’ of Händel … (always makes me grin):
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1DBAoWr-imY 😉

  18. Gert-Jan Hüfken / Jan 20 2015 10:07 pm

    Geweldig nieuws Erik!

  19. courscw / Jan 25 2015 1:41 pm

    Excellent ! Way to go, Eric ! next time I’ll sing Haendel (we do it with our ensemble), I won’t be able to help but think of you,

    Carsten

  20. nielshendriks / Jan 27 2015 9:12 am

    Fantastic news Erik!

  21. Frederic Bergeron / Feb 2 2015 6:22 am

    Glad to know that you’re feeling better, Erik. Carpe Diem!

Leave a Reply

