Skip to content
15 May 2015 / erikduval

Round 2

A bit more than a year ago, I posted not so great news. Then there was some stuff in between, and, two months ago, I posted that I was not (just) mr. Cancer Guy anymore.

Well, today, I had a PET scan. The bad news is that my lymphoma is back. The good news is that there are still a lot of options for treatment. In fact, there are so many options that it will take a few days to figure out how to proceed exactly…

Most likely, I will only have a light chemo regime for the next few weeks, so I plan not to become mr. Cancer Guy just yet. For now, I assume that I will continue to be around: I will continue to work with my students, my team, … maybe with you? I will continue to write and present. And I will continue to post about that part of my life here too. My job is just too interesting to not do so.

But, when you meet me, you may want to include an extra joke here or there to lighten up the mood a bit. You know, like the one about three cancer patients in a zeppelin who …

Never mind.

Anyway, we’ll see how it goes. This isn’t the beginning of the end. It may not even be the end of the beginning. I guess it’s more like the beginning of Round 2.

And to conclude with the obvious: do give your loved ones an extra hug tonight!

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. dougclow / May 15 2015 6:45 pm

    Bother that lymphoma!

    Will be cheering you on for round 2.

    A silly joke from my kids to be going on with:
    What do you call it when a cat falls on your greenhouse and smashes all the glass? A cat-astrophe!

  2. sis / May 15 2015 6:50 pm

    Something somebody actually said in American courts,
    Q: What is your date of birth?
    A: July 15.
    Q: What year?
    A: Every year.

    fuck cancer! we’ll laugh it away. one day after another.

  3. Maren / May 15 2015 7:06 pm

    Hoe noem je een mooie Nederlander?

    Een beauty case

    Preparing the banners and tapping into my joke-knowledgebase for round 2

    Extra hug

  4. metacoon / May 15 2015 7:16 pm

    keep my fingers crossed for you!

  5. JoB / May 15 2015 8:20 pm

    I know one about two cucumbers. Only works in Dutch though😉.

  6. Sharon Slade / May 15 2015 10:39 pm

    a physicist sees a young man about to jump off of the Maastoren. He yells, “don’t do it! You have so much potential!” And one from my kids with a big hug attached. “What’s brown and sticky?” ………… “A stick”
    B*****ks to cancer. Hang on in there

  7. Gillian / May 16 2015 8:23 am

    What do you call crime in a multi-storey carpark? Wrong on every level.

  8. xaoch / May 16 2015 10:11 pm

    Bon courage my friend! I think it should be Cancer who says: “Oh no, not that guy again”

  9. opendistanceteachingandlearning / May 17 2015 10:34 am

    All of the best Erik! Your journey has become ours in many, many ways. Baie sterkte!

  10. Thomas / May 17 2015 8:05 pm

    Er zitten twee apen in bad.
    Zegt de ene: “oe OE OE OE A AA AAA!”.
    Antwoordt de andere: “Ja jong, doet er dan wat koud water bij he”

    Courage! Flush them baddies out.

  11. Alan / May 19 2015 12:41 pm

    family duly hugged. And a hug to you.

Trackbacks

  1. S3: Sometimes Scared Superman | Erik Duval's Weblog

Leave a Reply

