Skip to content
17 May 2015 / erikduval

S3: Sometimes Scared Superman

Many thanks to all of you for the reactions that I just started Round 2, here, on twitter or FaceBook or email – much appreciated!

I wish I was sometimes half as optimistic as most of you seem to be… I didn’t actually win the first round – let’s call it a draw. And though I do intent to win the second round, regrettably that’s far from certain. Still, your encouragement and the fact that you care is nice… And it is hard to find the right words.

People often say that the public personae we project on blogs and social media are too positive. I’m not sure that this is true. But just to be clear: of course, I am scared from time to time. Scared that I will die for instance. Or scared that this cancer thing causes hurt for my Beloved Ones. (Dreaming about my own funeral two nights ago didn’t help.) Or scared that… Mmm, well, actually, that’s it. I think that those are the only two things I’m scared about.

Still, a bit contrary to what some of you seem to think, I’m no superman. Or, if I am (and then I’m sure that you are superman too – or superwoman), I am a Sometimes Scared Superman. Hope that’s fine.

Speaking of superman:

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. dougclow / May 18 2015 9:57 am

    It is hard to find the right words sometimes. Being scared sometimes in these circumstances seems very human and understandable to me. As is carrying on anyway. Wishing you the very best.

  2. sharonslade / May 24 2015 9:37 pm

    We’re all human, battling our personal issues however small or large, trivial or deep they may seem to other people. Yours seems pretty big to us all right now, and for those of us with kids, we have enormous empathy. Wishing you all the super powers needed to get past this.

Leave a Reply

