Skip to content
30 June 2015 / erikduval

Not always what you want

At the hospital today, I expected to get my fourth dose of experimental treatment, after a first cycle of three and a week without treatment. Rather unexpectedly, it turned out that my number of Blood Platelets was too low. That means an extra week without treatment.

Not what I wanted. Was also rather unexpected as I’ve never had problems like this during my treatment over the last 15 months or so. And I’m quite aware that it gives the Bad Stupid Cancer Cells an extra week without much of a challenge. Ah well… I guess you can’t always get what you want…

Then again:

But if you try sometime you find
You get what you need

Let’s hope things will play out that way…

And here’s the Soulwax remix (which I kind of like too):

 

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Stijn Kelchtermans / Jun 30 2015 4:21 pm

    Good luck with the waiting Erik.. I’m not too much of a patience Zen-master myself: I had to sit through a 2,5 hour long faculty council last week, which caused (I’m pretty sure) permanent brain damage. (I’m a terrible whiner, I know…🙂 ). Anyway, come on Blood Platelets!

  2. siavogel / Jun 30 2015 4:49 pm

    Teleurstelling en dan deze Stones, tja, wat een moed. Wat waren ze jong. Met belangstelling gelezen, met veel plezier gekeken en geluisterd, maar niet naar de remix🙂. Sterkte maar weer. Groet.

  3. Kockelkoren / Jul 1 2015 6:24 am

    hi Erik,
    we can discover outer space and are able to make nanobots.but curing someone isn’t one thing which pharmacies profit from. so they’re obviously not interested in making a cure for this nasty disease.
    chin up and hope you get what you need soon.

    grtz Chris

  4. dougclow / Jul 1 2015 11:51 am

    Not what you want, indeed. That’s almost a British level of understatement! “Not quite what one wanted, you know, old chap?” Cancer treatments are so often a horrible balancing act between zapping the Bad Stupid Cancer Cells and zapping the Good Lovely Person Cells. Hope your platelet count rebounds and you’re back on track next week.

Leave a Reply

