Skip to content
6 July 2015 / erikduval

Changes

Went to the hospital this morning to have my blood checked. I thought that was the plan. But we had a meeting instead. Which was … interesting.

As it turns out, a chromosomal analysis of my tumor cells had revealed that I actually suffer from T-cell lymfoblastic lymphoma (not Peripheral T-cell lymphoma, Non Otherwise Specified, as assumed over the last 15 months or so).

That means a change in regime: tomorrow, I will start a hospital stay for 5 days with chemo therapy (Nelarabine). I will get chemo on day 1 (tomorrow, Tuesday), 3 and 5. The next two weeks are chemo free, but I will need to get my blood checked twice per week at the hospital. Cycles in this regime are three weeks, so day 21 is like day 1 again. This continues for a few cycles, probably – also depending on how soon we find a stem cell donor.

(Did I remind you recently that you can help me or someone else by becoming a donor? Just think about how cool it would be if you saved my life. Or someone else’s for that matter. Becoming a SuperHero could just be a mouse click away…)

On the practical side of things, this implies quite a few changes… The Bad News: no family trips this holiday period. The Good News: better prognosis – which matters more in the long run😉

tl;dr I will not be in the office, but in the hospital this week…

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. hejamaja / Jul 6 2015 6:44 pm

    Kramar från Maria i Sverige!

  2. hejamaja / Jul 6 2015 6:45 pm

    Kramar från Maria i Lund (Sweden)

  3. Karine Nicolay / Jul 6 2015 6:48 pm

    Beste Erik, ik voel met je mee… Hopelijk maakt de betere prognose de teleurstelling van de afgeblazen tripjes met de familie ruimschoots goed… Ik speel de mogelijkheid om een superheld te worden door aan mijn min-40 neven en nichten…🙂 Moed, ook aan je familie.

  4. dougclow / Jul 7 2015 10:49 am

    Another lurch of the horrible roller-coaster! I hope the new chemotherapy regime is bearable. And, of course, that the improved prognosis successfully predicts an improved outcome. Very best of luck for finding a donor soon. I shall cross my fingers and knock on wood and take care to avoid spilling salt. And get started on reading up on statistics so I can do some analysis I’ve been putting off because it’s a bit hard to do correctly. Some of that must surely appease the statistical gods!

    All the best to you and your family.

  5. Andras Szucs / Jul 7 2015 6:36 pm

    Keep on praying for you and your family!

  6. Lut / Jul 7 2015 10:54 pm

    If only I could, but I am over 60. I ‘ll pass on your reminder. Belief makes changes happen, and so does a little help from your (wide circle of) friends. Get by with a little help from your friends.

  7. Gert-Jan Hufken / Jul 8 2015 4:02 pm

    Hi Erik,

    Goed om te lezen dat je vooruitzichten zijn verbeterd. Sterkte met deze nieuwe ronde van chemo’s! Ik hoop dat er daarnaast de komende weken, toch wat ‘vakantiegevoel’ mag binnendruppelen bij je gezin.
    Zojuist heb ik tot mijn ergernis gezien dat ik geen donor kan worden. Ik zal de link doorsturen naar enkele 40 – minners….

    Sterkte !
    Gert-Jan.

  8. Barbara / Jul 10 2015 7:27 am

    Better prognosis! I wish you all the best for the next weeks.

  9. fvanassche / Jul 15 2015 11:04 am

    Voor de belgen, zie: http://stamceldonor.be/
    Best wishes Erik!

Trackbacks

  1. A Man with a Better Plan | Erik Duval's Weblog
  2. Yet Another Plan | Erik Duval's Weblog

Leave a Reply

