Skip to content
20 July 2015 / erikduval

Thank YOU

As I’m writing this, there is blood from someone else dripping into my veins. Later today, I will be stronger than this morning, because someone decided sometime ago to donate blood. Someone who doesn’t know me. Someone who doesn’t get a “thank you, that was really helpful” note this evening. Someone who may have long forgotten about donating blood in the first place.

My source of strength

My source of strength

Even more, it looks like I may have a stem cell donor. If that is confirmed, then that is Really Good News for my treatment. The only way this could happen is because someone decided sometime ago to donate stem cells. Someone who doesn’t know me. Someone who doesn’t get a “thank you, that was really helpful – you may well have saved my life” note in a few weeks. Someone who may have long forgotten about donating stem cells in the first place.

To all of you who donate blood, cells, whatever: thank you. I owe you.

Many of you wrote to me before that you registered. This “thank you” is for you.

And to everyone else: why not register now? I’m sure you’re enough of a google expert to find out how to do so in your country…

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. anne de graaf / Jul 21 2015 2:29 pm

    prachtig verwoord, moed houden

  2. r3becca / Jul 23 2015 10:08 am

    Really glad to hear that you have found a potential stem cell donor. That is great news.
    Ironically, the fact that you have received a blood donation would make you ineligible as a blood donor yourself in future.

Trackbacks

  1. A Man with a Better Plan | Erik Duval's Weblog

Leave a Reply

