Skip to content
20 August 2015 / erikduval

Yet Another Plan

After my better plan, I now have a newer, bester plan😉 …

Yesterday, I had a PET-CT scan and it is clear that I have too much tumor mass to go into my allogeneic stem cell transplant next week, as originally planned. So, I will start a 4 week hospital stay tomorrow, focusing on chemo treatment for my tumors.

Since my diagnosis changed to T-ALL about 6 weeks ago, there are some relevant chemo treatments for my condition that I haven’t had yet, notably asparaginase and methotrexate. I’ll have those in the coming weeks, which means that my resistance to infections will be severely compromised. I’ll also need some detailed medical follow-up. In short, I’ll spend the next 4 weeks in an isolation room.

If the chemo does its job, then my tumor mass should be seriously reduced or even completely gone. Then I should be able to have my stem cell transplant in about a month or so, which will involve another 4 week hospital stay, again in isolation.

In short, the current plan is to enter the hospital tomorrow for 4 weeks of chemo treatment, then spend a week at home to recover and then spend another 4 weeks in hospital, for my stem cell transplant.

Will probably not be the most fun period of my life, but I’ve spend weeks in an isolation room before. Gives you lots of time to read and work, which I do enjoy. Really. And there is a serious chance that this treatment will actually save my life – which is kind of nice.

Apologies if my health bulletin isn’t the most interesting kind of news. In any case, all in all, I’m rather optimistic and hopeful. Hope you’re doing fine too!

15 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. vprot / Aug 20 2015 11:01 am

    Not much to say, for once more…I really adore the fact that you still have such a positive attitude, which is a crucial factor for quick recovery, as they say! There’s always hope and hope for everyone so you hope and we hope the best for you – even when life behaves like an actual bitch!

    Best wishes from Athens and really looking forward to receiving some good news!

  2. Karine Nicolay / Aug 20 2015 11:10 am

    Dag Erik. Fijn dat je het zo optimistisch kan bekijken… Werk ze!

  3. manuelsintubin / Aug 20 2015 11:11 am

    All the strength, Erik … hopefully some opera will help you through this ordeal.

  4. sharonslade / Aug 20 2015 11:35 am

    I have a great range of book suggestions if you think you’ll run out of reading matter! Will be thinking of you over the coming weeks, as I’m sure will all of us who follow your blog. Sending positive vibes your way.

  5. siavogel / Aug 20 2015 11:47 am

    Hoop dat werken een beetje zal lukken en veel succes met het wek van de chemo.

  6. hediamhiri / Aug 20 2015 11:52 am

    I hope the best for you

  7. Gert-Jan Hufken / Aug 20 2015 6:44 pm

    Hi Erik,

    Veel succes gewenst met de chemo’s en de tijd in afzondering !

    Gert-Jan.

  8. Kate Bowles / Aug 21 2015 3:50 am

    Just sending good thoughts.

  9. Shane / Aug 21 2015 4:31 am

    Thinking of you Erik. Best wishes with the treatment.

  10. Lieve Coninx / Aug 21 2015 12:59 pm

    Dag Erik,

    Wat me opvalt is dat je schrijft “to enter the hospital tomorrow for 4 weeks of chemo treatment, then spend a week at home to recover…”. Thuis is het geneesmiddel dat je wellicht het best helpt om een beetje “op je plooi te komen”. En vergeet niet: “When everything seems to be going against you, remember that the airplane takes off against the wind, not with it.” (Henry Ford)

    Succes!

    Lieve

    ______________________
    Lieve Coninx
    Liaison Officer
    CESAER
    Kasteelpark Arenberg 1 bus 2200
    B-3001 Heverlee
    Tel +32 16 32 16 87 | F +32 16 32 85 91 | Mob +32 479 408 701
    lieve.coninx@cesaer.org | http://www.cesaer.org

    [banner_small]

  11. Jillianne / Aug 21 2015 4:46 pm

    Erik – from one survivor to another I know you’ve got this!

  12. Wayne Hodgins / Aug 21 2015 9:45 pm

    Bula Bula from Fiji my friend! First of all, please don’t EVER apologize for keeping your friends and family who love and respect you, up to date on you. Quiet the opposite of your comment of “Apologies if my health bulletin isn’t the most interesting kind of news.”, for us this is THE most interesting and welcomed news we get, no matter what the news is. YOU my friend, and our ever so special friendship are amongst the greatest gifts in my life and that is saying something given how amazingly gifted my life is. So PLEASE continue to be the you we all know and love, continue the good fight and continue to let us know about all things in Erik’s World.

  13. Julie Vermeersch / Aug 24 2015 8:28 am

    Veel succes, en zeker zo positief blijven!

  14. josemota / Aug 26 2015 6:29 pm

    I hope all goes well in this new phase, Erik. All the best.

  15. Ivonne / Aug 27 2015 5:59 pm

    Hi, Erik!! You must not remember me, but I will always rerember you. I was in Leuven in 2012, as part of a Cuban delegation for the VLIR projects, and you talked to us about your ongoing projects for about ten minutes. You blew my mind up!!! really impressed me.
    I wish you the best in this better plan, and I admire your courage and strength.
    Wish you the very best, best!!
    Ivonne

Leave a Reply

