Skip to content
10 September 2015 / erikduval

Home…

I’m home.

After 20 days in the hospital, I arrived home yesterday. That was one long stretch of hospital for me – I know, it’s much worse for others…

On the physical side, this was a bit hard, but not that hard. I had eight doses of Asparaginase, a bit of other chemo and two punctures of my bone and two of my spinal cord. Sounds worse than it is. Really: the university hospital has great staff that works very gently to get you through the procedures.

It’s the psychological side that I found a bit harder to cope with: I was confined to my room for 20 days and in rather a strict way – no leaving the room at all for most of the time. Sounds easier than it is. Sometimes, it really felt like being locked up in a cell.

I’ve actually completely internalised some of the constraints: I was linked to a catheter in the hospital, dragging it with me from bed to toilet to water bassin to bed etc. Since yesterday, I’m disconnected but I still reach out for the device when I get up from a chair.

And I’m tired. Quite tired.

But I’m home. Can’t begin to tell you how much that means for me…

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Stijn Kelchtermans / Sep 10 2015 4:22 pm

    Nice to hear this, Erik! Surely it will be nice to watch some tv on a familiar couch… 🙂

  2. siavogel / Sep 10 2015 8:54 pm

    O jongen toch. Moedig. Maar wat moet je allemaal doormaken. Nee, ik bedoel het niet zo maternalistisch als het klinkt, maar toch… :-). Geweldig om nu weer even te mogen rusten thuis.

  3. fvanassche / Sep 11 2015 6:49 am

    If I’m not mistaken, it is your birthday today. Happy birthday Erik! My best wishes and I hope you feel less tired soon.

  4. bramvdp / Sep 11 2015 8:09 am

    Hi Erik, I hope you are not too tired to celebrate a bit. My best wishes and a Happy Birthday to you !

  5. lrenshaw11 / Sep 11 2015 10:57 am

    Glad ur home Erik . Time to be nurtured and draw strength from your family. Thinking of you often and looking forward to continuing to read your journey towards positive health .

  6. JoB / Sep 14 2015 8:28 am

    I didn’t even know you were also a virgin!

    Congratulations.

    May all of your next years be better than the past one.

  7. Gert-Jan Hufken / Sep 14 2015 3:24 pm

    Hi Erik,

    Goed om te lezen dat je deze hindernis nu achter je hebt. Laat de rust in huiselijke sfeer nu maar wat wonderen doen….

  8. Marian / Sep 16 2015 1:24 pm

    Wat er niet allemaal op jouw schouders gelegd wordt dit jaar. Ik hoop dat het nu klaar is, genoeg is genoeg. Dat je vanaf nu alleen nog maar langzamerhand telkens een stapje beter moge worden.

  9. SimonBuckinghamShum (@sbuckshum) / Sep 17 2015 11:55 pm

    Hi Erik, thanks for sharing the ‘journey’ you’re on. It is a reminder to me that amidst the chaos of life we can lose sight of what is most important. I’m pondering the significance of the cunningly juxtaposed pseudo-randomly generated adverts in your posts 😉

Leave a comment